The Software Engineering Track

at The 27th Annual ACM Symposium on Applied Computing  (SAC 2012)

Riva del Garda (Trento), Italy

March 25-29, 2012


The objective of the SE track is to provide researchers and practitioners with an embedded forum for presenting and discussing their ideas and experiences with technologies, theories, and tools used for producing software with high quality more effectively and efficiently. The SE Track is big enough to represent major topics in software engineering, but small enough to provide an in-depth representation of theory and practice in these areas. Academic researchers and industry participants can share their ideas and practices. In particular, the SE Track not only allows the software engineering academic community to understand the areas that are vital to the software industry, but also gives software engineering practitioners an opportunity to express their needs.

Topics of Interests

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:

Paper Submission & Selection

Research papers and experience reports related to the above topics are solicited. Submissions must not have been published or be concurrently considered for publication elsewhere. Papers should be submitted in the PDF format with no more than six pages using the ACM-SAC proceedings format. Authors' names and affiliations should be entered separately at the submission site and not appear in the submitted papers. Each submission will be reviewed in a double-blind process according to the ACM-SAC Regulations. Paper selection is based on the originality, technical contribution, presentation quality, and relevance to the SE Track. Upon paper acceptance, prospective authors must provide a revised, camera-ready version which takes into account the review comments. The conference proceedings are published by ACM and are also available online through ACM's Digital Library.

Important Dates

  • Paper submission:
  •       September7, 2011
  • Author notification:
  •       October 12, 2011
  • Camera-Ready copy:
  •       November 2, 2011

    Track Chairs

    Program Committee

    Rui Abreu University of Porto, Portugal
    Joao Paulo Almeida Federal University of Espirito Santo, Brazil
    Doo-Hwan Bae KAIST, Korea
    Fevzi Belli University of Paderborn, Germany
    Maarten Boasson University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Alejandra Cechich Universidad Nacional del Comahue, Argentina
    Chih-Hung Chang Hsiuping University of Science and Technology, Taiwan
    Zhenyu Chen Nanjing University
    Zhihao Chen Motorola, USA
    Byoungju Choi Ewha Woman's University, Korea
    William Chu Tunghai University, Taiwan
    Vidroha Debroy Microsoft, USA
    Junhua Ding East Carolina University, USA
    Tadashi Dohi Hiroshima University, Japan
    Filomena Ferrucci, Universita di Salerno, Italy
    Ronald Finkbine Indiana University Southeast, USA
    Arjan J.C. van Gemund Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
    Qing Gu Nanjing University, China
    Susana Munoz Hernandez Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain
    Mahdi Jaghouri Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica, Netherlands
    Mario Jino The State University of Campinas, Brazil
    Herbert Kuchen Westfalische Wilhelms-Universitat Munster, Germany
    Yeongkwun Kim Western Illinois University, USA
    Diana Kuo Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
    Bixin Li Southeast University, China
    Jenny Li Avaya Labs Research, USA
    Horst Lichter RWTH Aachen University, Germany
    Yen-Chun Lin Chang Jung University, Taiwan
    Huai Liu Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
    Shaoying Liu Hosei University, Japan
    Yan Liu Motorola Labs, USA
    Paulo Masiero University of Sao Paulo at Sao Carlos, Brazil
    Mohamed Mosbah Universite de Bordeaux, France
    Pornsiri Muenchaisri Chulalongkorn University, Thailand
    Thomas Noll RWTH Aachen University, Germany
    Markus Roggenbach University of Wales at Swansea, UK
    Sung Shin South Dakota State University, USA
    Randy Smith University of Alabama, USA
    Eunjee Song Baylor University, USA
    Robert Tairas Institut National de Recherche en Informatique et en Automatique, France
    Guilherme Travassons Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    David Umphress Auburn University, USA
    Pradeep Varma IBM India Research Laboratory, India
    Auri Vincenzi Universidade Federal de Goias, Brazila
    Linzhang Wang Nanjing University, China
    Jun Wei Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
    Dianxiang Xu Dakota State University, USA

    General Inquiries

    For further information, please send email to Professor Chris Sung at