The Software Engineering Track

at The 23rd Annual ACM Symposium on Applied Computing (SAC 2008)

Fortaleza, Brazil

March 16-20, 2008



This year’s Software Engineering Track has a special focus on “Emerging Techniques for Dependable Software Development”. The objective is to provide researchers and practitioners with an embedded forum for presenting and discussing their ideas and experiences with technologies, theories, and tools used for producing highly dependable software more effectively and efficiently. The Software Engineering Track is big enough to represent major topics in software engineering, but small enough to provide an in-depth representation of theory and practice in these areas. Academic researchers and industry participants can share their ideas and practices. In particular, the Software Engineering Track not only allows the software engineering academic community to understand the areas that are vital to the software industry, but also gives software engineering practitioners an opportunity to express their needs.

Topics of Interests

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:


  • Aspect-Oriented Software Development and Design
  • Component-Based Development and Reuse
  • Safety, Security, Privacy, and Risk Management
  • Dependability and Reliability
  • Fault Tolerance and Availability
  • Metrics and Measurement
  • Architecture, Framework, and Design Patterns
  • Requirements Engineering
  • Process, Standards, and Project Management
  • Maintenance and Reverse Engineering
  • Quality Assurance and Management
  • Verification, Validation, Testing, and Analysis
  • Formal Methods and Theories
  • Empirical Studies, Benchmarking, and Industrial Best Practices 
  • Applications and Tools
  • Pervasive, Ubiquitous, Service-Oriented Computing
  • Collaborative, Distributed, Embedded, Real-Time, High Performance, Highly Dependable, Intelligent, Multimedia Systems

Paper Submission & Selection

Research papers and experience reports related to the above topics are solicited. Submissions must not have been published or be concurrently considered for publication elsewhere. Papers should be submitted in the PDF format with no more than six pages using the ACM-SAC proceedings format via the ACM-SAC submission site. Authors' names and affiliations should be entered separately at the submission site and not appear in the submitted papers. Each submission will be reviewed in a double-blind process according to the ACM-SAC Regulations. Paper selection is based on the originality, technical contribution, presentation quality, and relevance to the Software Engineering Track. Upon paper acceptance, prospective authors must provide a revised, camera-ready version which takes into account the review comments. The first five pages of each paper are free of charge. An additional fee will be charged on the sixth page. The conference proceedings are published by ACM and are also available online through ACM’s Digital Library.

Journal Special Issue

For SAC 2007, the Software Engineering Track received 51 submissions with 16 accepted for presentation at the conference. Six of these have been selected for possible publication in a special issue of Software Quality Journal published by Springer. The guest editors of this special SQJ/SAC-SE issue are the SE track chairs (Professor Eric Wong and Professor Chris Sung) and Professor Sudipto Ghosh from the SQJ Editorial Board.


We plan to do the same in 2008 by inviting authors of selected papers to submit an extended version of their papers to a special journal issue guest-edited by the track chairs.

Track Chairs

Program Committee


Hira Agrawal

Telcordia, USA


Doo-Hwan Bae

Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea


Fevzi Belli

University of Paderborn, Germany


Alejandra Cechich

Universidad Nacional del Comahue, Argentina


Victor Chan

Macao Polytechnic Institute, Macao


Byoungju Choi

Ewha Woman's University, Korea


Kendra Cooper

University of Texas at Dallas, USA


Bojan Cukic

West Virginia University, USA


Marcio Delamaro

Centro Universitário Eurípides de Marília, Brazil


Jin Song Dong

University of Singapore, Singapore


Sudipto Ghosh

Colorado State University, USA


Andy Gravell

University of Southampton, UK


Bob Horgan

Telcordia, USA


Michael Jiang

Motorola, USA


Zhi Jin

Chinese Academy of Science, China


Mario Jino

The State University of Campinas, Brazil


Karama Kanoun



Haklin Kimm

East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania, USA


Derrick Kourie

University of Pretoria, South Africa


Herbert Kuchen

European Research Center for Information Systems, University of Munster, Germany


Diana Kuo

Swinburne University of Technology, Australia


Edmonds Lau

Swinburne University of Technology, Australia


Jenny Li

Avaya Labs Research, USA


Xuandong Li

Nanjing Univeristy, China


Horst Lichter

RWTH Aachen University, Germany


Yan Liu

Motorola, USA


Shaoying Liu

Hosei University, Japan


Yu-Seung Ma

ETRI, Korea


Jose Maldonado

University of Sao Paulo at Sao Carlos, Brazil


Paulo Masiero

University of Sao Paulo at Sao Carlos, Brazil


Katharina Mehner

Siemens AG, Germany


Simanta Mitra

Iowa State University, USA


Mohamed Mosbah

Universite de Bordeaux, France


Pornsiri Muenhaisri

Chulalongkorn University, Thailand


Tien Nguyen

Iowa State University, USA


Thomas Noll

RWTH Aachen University, Germany


Amit Paradkar

IBM Watson Research Center, USA


Sooyong Park

Sogang University, Korea


Markus Roggenbach

University of Wales at Swansea, UK


Valdivino Santiago

National Institute for Space Research (INPE), Brazil


Sahra Sedigh

University of Missouri, USA


Sung Shin

South Dakota State University, USA


Carol Smidts

University of Maryland, USA


Eunjee Song

Baylor University, USA


Chang Oan Sung

Indiana University Southeast, USA


Kenji Taguchi

National Institute of Informatics, Japan


Guilherme Travassos

University Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil


David Umphress

Auburn University, USA


Pradeep Varma

IBM India Research Laboratory, India


Auri Vincenzi

Universidade Católica de Santos - UNISANTOS, Brazil


Ji Wang

Changsha Institute of Technology, China


Eric Wong

University of Texas at Dallas, USA


Fei Xie

Portland State University, USA


Baowen Xu

Southeast University, China


Dianxiang Xu

North Dakota State University, USA


Jian Zhang

Chinese Academy of Science, China


Hong Zhu

Oxford Brookes University, UK


Mohammad Zulkernine

Queen's University, Canada

Important Dates

General Inquiries

For further information, please send email to